Take Action
It’s time to demand action from our politicians

Join the Calgary River Communities Action Group in advocating for upstream mitigation to protect the City of Calgary. We are a grassroots organization advocating for affected Calgarians and our neighbours in surrounding communities.


It’s time to put politics aside and do what’s right to protect our families, our communities and our city.

Please take a few minutes to write a letter to your federal MP, provincial MLA and your Calgary Councillor. We’ve provided their email addresses below. Click this link to see who represents your neighbourhood.


Also please take a moment to email Premier Rachel Notley.






COPY (Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta)


Dear MLA and Premier Notley,


As you are aware, Calgarians continue to rebuild in the wake of the June 2013 Flood. The largest natural disaster in Alberta’s history saw some 75,000 people evacuated from their homes. Displaced, we watched the Bow and Elbow rivers spill into the streets: destroying our homes, small businesses and threatening to disable downtown. Bricks and mortar can be rebuilt, but the healing of us as affected Calgarians will take longer. Neighbours aren’t back in their homes, businesses have failed, marriages are breaking down and lines of credit are tapped.


We can’t afford to let this happen again! Calgary is the economic engine for Canada.


I write to you to demand protection from future flooding – through upstream mitigation measures. If you don’t, people from coast to coast will pay the price through lost economic opportunities and higher taxes. While my family, my neighbours and our community will pay even higher costs from further financial and emotional burdens.


Do the right thing and take action now to ensure that the City of Calgary is protected from future flooding. We call on you to approve, fully fund and implement mitigation measures that will safeguard the downtown core, cherished institutions like the Calgary Zoo, Calgarians and our communities.


Contact Information for Politicians



To find your MLA and their contact information, click this link. Also copy Premier Rachel Notley at: premier@gov.ab.ca

Calgary-Acadia • Brandy Payne • calgary.acadia@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Bow • Deborah Drever • calgary.bow@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Buffalo • Kathleen Ganley • calgary.buffalo@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Cross • Ricardo Miranda • calgary.cross@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Currie • Brian Malkinson • calgary.currie@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-East • Robyn Luff • calgary.east@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Elbow • Greg Clark • calgary.elbow@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Fish Creek • Richard Gotfried • calgary.fishcreek@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Foothills • Prasad Panda • calgary.foothills@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Fort • Joe Ceci • calgary.fort@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Glenmore • Anam Kazim • calgary.glenmore@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Greenway • Prab Gill • calgary.greenway@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Hawkwood • Michael Connolly • calgary.hawkwood@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Hays • Ric McIver • calgary.hays@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Klein • Craig Coolahan • calgary.klein@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Lougheed • Dave Rodney • calgary.lougheed@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill • Karen McPherson • calgary.mackay.nosehill@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-McCall • Irfan Sabir • calgary.mccall@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Mountain View • David Swann • calgary.mountainview@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-North West • Sandra Jansen • calgary.northwest@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Northern Hills • Jamie Kleinsteuber • calgary.northernhills@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Shaw • Graham Sucha • calgary.shaw@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-South East • Rick Fraser • calgary.southeast@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-Varsity • Stephanie McLean • calgary.varsity@assembly.ab.ca
Calgary-West • Mike Ellis • calgary.west@assembly.ab.ca



Use this link to find your Calgary Councillor. Contact information for all councillors is listed below.


Mayor’s Office


City Councillors

Ward 1: Ward Sutherland – ward01@calgary.ca

Ward 2: Joe Magliocca – ward02@calgary.ca

Ward 3: Jyoti Gondek – ward03@calgary.ca

Ward 4: Sean Chu – ward04@calgary.ca

Ward 5: George Chahal – ward05@calgary.ca

Ward 6: Jeff Davison – ward06@calgary.ca

Ward 7: Druh Farrell – ward07@calgary.ca

Ward 8: Evan Woolley – ward08@calgary.ca

Ward 9: Gian Carlo-Carra – ward09@calgary.ca

Ward 10: Ray Jones – ward10@calgary.ca

Ward 11: Jeromy Farkas – ward11@calgary.ca

Ward 12: Shane Keating – ward12@calgary.ca

Ward 13: Diane Colley-Urquhart – ward13@calgary.ca

Ward 14: Peter Demong – ward14@calgary.ca


To find your MP and their contact information click here. Also copy Prime Minister Justin Trudeau at: pm@pm.gc.ca


Calgary Centre Kent Hehr Kent.Hehr@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Confederation Len Webber Len.Webber@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Forest Lawn Deepak Obhrai deepak.obhrai@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Heritage Bob Benzen Bob.Benzen@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Midnapore Stephanie Kusie Stephanie.Kusie@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Nose Hill Michelle Rempel Michelle.Rempel@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Rocky Ridge Pat Kelly Pat.Kelly@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Shepard Tom Kmiec Tom.Kmiec@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Signal Hill Ron Liepert Ron.Liepert@parl.gc.ca
Calgary Skyview Darshan Singh Kang DarshanSingh.Kang@parl.gc.ca


Please share this information on Facebook and Twitter and feel free to connect with our elected politicians.

Don’t forget to use the hashtags #protectcalgary #yyc #ableg #cdnpoli